Urgently Important

So, here is some mindless ramble. There really isn’t enough hours in a day to do all that I would like to do. Or is it that I need to do? Or have to do? I guess that boils down to the question of priority doesn’t it? It’s just that my mind is playing tricks on me – You have to do this and that and that and this and on and on and on it goes.

What is my priority? Priority? Priority? Whatever does that word mean? Priority to me or to another? If I was at work then priority leans in the direction of my boss, doesn’t it? At church would be the pastor or whichever ministry I would be involved in, at home my spouse or kids (if you have any). Priority usually signifies that there is something that must be done, something that out ranks another, whether it is important or not or urgent or not. It’s just a matter of fact. But who decides on what is priority and when is it okay to choose the one over the other?

Definition of priority could be summarised as:

  • A thing that is regarded as more important than another
  • The fact or condition of being regarded or treated as more important
  • The right to take precedence or to proceed before others
Definition of Urgent:
  • (of a state or situation) Requiring immediate action or attention
  • (of action or an event) Done or arranged in response to such a situation
  • (of a person or their manner) Earnest and persistent in response to such a situation
Definition of Important:
  • Of great significance or value; likely to have a profound effect on success, survival, or well-being
  • (of a person) Having high rank or status
  • (of an artist or artistic work) Significantly original and influential
I think that priority and urgent are cousins?  (Hmmm! All I know is that my grade for English in matric wasn’t anything to smile at, so that is a bit of a stretch). Urgent always has this concept of a deadline attached to it, as if it is saying “if you don’t do it now, then boy o boy, will you be in for some nasty surprise”. Like we already don’t have enough pressure on us and full plates.
I like the way Stephen Covey says we have to make the call on a daily basis between what is Important and what is Urgent. Many times what is urgent just seems like the right thing to do, like making the meeting on time vs watching a perfect sunset. Or making sure I get to see that particular episode of Game of Thrones as opposed to spending time in conversation with that significant other. I mean they both just seem so right at the time. So what would the litmus test be as to what the best decision to make will be?
I think quite simply put: if this opportunity passes by, would I ever get to experience it again?  The important decisions in life are very seldom or almost never the urgent ones. So while I understand the concept of priority, shouldn’t we rather just focus on what is important at any given time? I know life isn’t lived in isolation of the rest of the world and we have responsibilities, but when we have so little time to focus on the important, why put it off for much longer?
So here I am at home just thinking, I should just do what is important to me and to those that matter, those who are a priority 🙂
Leave a Reply

